68 667
Assignments Done
Successfully Done
In January 2019

Answer to Question #69705 in Astronomy | Astrophysics for SANJAY

Question #69705
Ques. Describe Hubble’s Classification scheme for galaxies.
Expert's answer
Classification is based on our perspective from Earth. There are four types of galaxies [1,2]:
1. elliptical (doesn’t have spiral structure, vary from round E0 to elongated ellipse E7),
2. spiral (type depend on the tightness of the arms and the size of the nucleus, S0 have a disc and no visible arms, Sa is the tightest wound with large nucleus, Sc is the most open with little nucleus, Sb is in the middle),
3. barred spiral (the same as the spiral but has a prominent bar through the nucleus),
4. irregular (any other).
[1] http://btc.montana.edu/ceres/html/galaxy/galhubble.html
[2] http://astronomy.swin.edu.au/cosmos/H/Hubble+Classification

Need a fast expert's response?

Submit order

and get a quick answer at the best price

for any assignment or question with DETAILED EXPLANATIONS!


No comments. Be first!

Leave a comment

Ask Your question

Privacy policy Terms and Conditions