Answer to Question #165849 in Sociology for Kwame Hayford

Question #165849

Briefly explain the following acts of Sharia law: Commanded, Recommended, and Forbidden. Illustrate your explanation with clear example (s).

Expert's answer

The Islamic Shari’ah law defines the five categories of human behavior. They entail; commanded, recommended, and forbidden, among others. These acts are controlled or obligatory; in this life and the next, disobedience is worthy of punishment, and obedience is rewarded in perpetuity. Therefore, commanded actions are based on interpretation and understanding of the Quran, forming the ideal law base. For instance, justice should always be served and adhered among Muslims (Mohamed, 2019).

These acts are also recommended, i.e., they are not required but deemed commendable.  Therefore, the expected is connected to the sharia law where although not punishable, accomplishing the recommended acts is worthy of reward here on earth and in paradise. For instance, one must treat others with respect and love, fast, and do any other good deeds. The forbidden acts are prohibited, and doing them leads to punishment, and avoiding them is worthy of paradise. These behaviors are not allowed and should not be performed under any circumstances. Sexual immorality, drinking alcoholic drinks, lying, and thievery are among the forbidden acts. 


Mohamed, H. (2019). Commanding Right And Forbidding Wrong: A Behavioral Investigation Using The Rowing Game. International Journal of Islamic Economics1(01), 59-78.

Need a fast expert's response?

Submit order

and get a quick answer at the best price

for any assignment or question with DETAILED EXPLANATIONS!


No comments. Be the first!

Leave a comment

Ask Your question

New on Blog