Answer to Question #206387 in History for Emmanuel Egbuagha

Question #206387

The southern states of the Unites States of America had no choice but to secede from theUnion in 1860 as President Abraham Lincoln was about to abolish slavery.’ Do you 

agree? Give reasons for your answer.

Expert's answer

Yes I agree

Because when the South Carolina legislature saw a danger when Abraham Lincoln, a well-known opponent of slavery, was elected president. The delegates convened a state convention and resolved to withdraw South Carolina from the union known as the United States of America. South Carolina's secession was followed by the secession of six other states–Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, and Texas–as well as the threat of secession from four further states–Virginia, Arkansas, Tennessee, and North Carolina. The Confederate States of America was ultimately constituted by these eleven states. When Lincoln's predecessor, President Buchanan, refused to cede southern federal forts to secessionist states, southern state forces took them. At Fort Sumter, South Carolina soldiers thwarted an attempt by a supply ship to reach federal soldiers stationed there. The ship was compelled to return to New York without delivering its cargo. The bombardment on Fort Sumter caused the Confederacy to gain four more states. Richmond was designated the Confederate Capital after Virginia's secession.

Need a fast expert's response?

Submit order

and get a quick answer at the best price

for any assignment or question with DETAILED EXPLANATIONS!


No comments. Be the first!

Leave a comment

Ask Your question

New on Blog