The retail price of an EpiPen is $300, while industry sources estimate that it costs around $30 to produce each unit (i.e. one dose). Despite this high price, Mylan sells 1 million units a year.
Derive the marginal revenue function. If the marginal cost of production is constant at
$30, calculate the producer surplus, consumer surplus, and deadweight loss from
P = $300, ATC = $30, Q = 1 million units a year. MR = TR' = (P*Q)' = MC = $30. As we don't know the demand function, we can't derive producer surplus, consumer surplus, and deadweight loss from monopoly pricing.