Answer to Question #21744 in Biology for Tricia

Question #21744
what are the stages of meiosis
Expert's answer
Meiosis is divided into meiosis I and meiosis II.

Meiosis I separates homologous chromosomes, producing two haploid cells.
Phases of Meiosis I:
- Prophase I (DNA is exchanged between homologous chromosomes in a process called homologous recombination)
- Metaphase I (Homologous pairs move together along the metaphase plate)
- Anaphase I (Whole chromosomes are pulled toward opposing poles, forming two haploid sets. Each chromosome still contains a pair of sister chromatids)
- Telophase I (A new nuclear membrane surrounds each haploid set)

Meiosis II produces four haploid cells from the two haploid cells produced in meiosis I.
Phases of Meiosis II:
- Prophase II
- Metaphase II
- Anaphase II
- Telophase II
So meiosis ends up with four new daughter cells.

Need a fast expert's response?

Submit order

and get a quick answer at the best price

for any assignment or question with DETAILED EXPLANATIONS!


No comments. Be the first!

Leave a comment

New on Blog