Answer to Question #197543 in Biology for Surbhi Sharma

Question #197543

Why five kingdom classification system given by Whittaker is better than the three kingdom classification?Give the main characteristics of each kingdom of Whittaker's system of classification with examples.

Expert's answer

In five kingdom classification, the organisms are classified based on nutrition, cell structure, phylogenetic relationships, and reproduction. Next, unicellular and multicellular organisms are kept separately while autotrophs and heterotrophs are also separated. Finally, prokaryotes are placed in a separate group.

1. Kingdom Monera - unicellular prokaryotic organisms (bacteria)

2. Kingdom Protista - unicellular eukaryotic organisms (i.e., diatoms)

3. Kingdom Fungi - filamentous or single-celled heterotrophic eukaryotes (i.e., yeasts)

4. Kingdom Plantae - unicellular and multicellular autotrophic eukaryotes (i.e., trees)

5. Kingdom Animalia - multicellular eukaryotes without cell wall (i.e., humans)

Need a fast expert's response?

Submit order

and get a quick answer at the best price

for any assignment or question with DETAILED EXPLANATIONS!


No comments. Be the first!

Leave a comment

New on Blog