Answer to Question #172806 in Biology for Feby Abraham

Question #172806

Explain the major groups of plants (bryophytes, seedless vascular, gymnosperms, angiosperms -- and then monocot/dicot among the angiosperms)

Expert's answer

Bryophytes consist of three divisions of non-vascular land plants: the liverworts, hornworts and mosses. They have small in size and predominantly inhabit the moist environment.

Seedless vascular plants comprise plants that contain vascular tissue but do not produce seeds, for example, ferns and horsetails. These plants reproduce using haploid, unicellular spores instead of seeds.

The gymnosperms are a group of plants that produce seeds but do not form flowers. They include conifers, cycads, Ginkgo, and gnetophytes.

Angiosperms are vascular plants that reproduce via seeds and produce flowers. Fruits, grains, vegetables, trees, grasses and flowers are angiosperms.

Monocots represent a group of flowering plants characterized by seeds with a single cotyledon, scattered vascular bundles, parallel-veined leaves, lack if cambium, and an adventitious root system.

Dicots are flowering plants that have seeds with two cotyledons, net-veined leaves, vascular cambium, and a tap root system.

Need a fast expert's response?

Submit order

and get a quick answer at the best price

for any assignment or question with DETAILED EXPLANATIONS!


No comments. Be the first!

Leave a comment

New on Blog